A Chat with Lara Ayres

This week, I sat down a had a conversation with my friend Lara Ayres,

Lara Ayres performing at the Nightingale Concert Hall

who is a music major here at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Currently a junior, she is involved with singing in the Reno Chamber Orchestra as a featured alto soloist and performing every semester in school concerts and operas. This semester the music department is putting on the opera, Suor Angelica.

For for many people operas are long and hard to get through, but it is an area of performing arts that has been around since Mozart’s time. Operas are a type of musical that may not be the most popular, but they are definitely beautiful pieces. Especially the performances put on by the University, which are always top notch and spectacular.

Last spring I went to see the opera, Iolanthe, that the Nevada Chamber Opera put on and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. It helped that the opera was in English and the students added their own twist to the opera which made the show extremely funny and entertaining.

The opera this semester, Suor Angelica written by Puccini, is about 17th century convent and the lead character, Suor Angelica is sent to the convent as a punishment. I asked Lara a few questions about the show, what role she plays in the opera, and a few personal questions.

What is your opinion about this opera?

I think that this opera has beautiful music, that is really challenging to sing, but it is a great piece. It is great music but unfortunately it has a really depressing ending.

What role do you play in Suor Angelica?

I have a few roles. I am a moderator throughout the opera and I also am covering the role of Suor Angelica’s aunt, Principessa. I am really excited to play this role because I get to sing a duet aria with the lead, Suor Angelica. This role is really challenging to sing, but I am very excited about it.

Who is playing the role of Suor Angelica?

We actually have a local guest artist coming  from Susanville to perform the role of Suor Angelica.

Are there going to be any special features since the show is in another language?

Yes, our director, Dr. Lee, is planning on putting an electronic board above the stage so the audience will be able to follow along with the opera. This is our first big production with our new director this year, so it should be a really great production.

When is the show going to take place?

We will be performing the 3rd weekend in April, which is the 19-21 at Nightingale Hall. The evening performances on the 19th and 20th will be at 7:30pm, and the performance on the 21st will be at 2pm.

(For more information and to buy tickets visit the UNR music department website or call (775) 784-3555.)

How many times a week do you receive voice lessons?

I have lessons anywhere from 1 to 2 times a week. However, when I have a performance coming up, like Suor Angelica, I usually have my voice lessons about 3 times a week.

Lara is also a big fan of musical theater so I had to ask, What is your favorite Broadway musical?”

I like so many, but I would have to say my favorites are definitely Wicked, Rent and Next to Normal. I love shows that have a little darkness to them, but have a happy ending. Did you know that a production of Rent is coming to Tahoe this summer? The community college in South Lake Tahoe is actually putting on a production of Rent in June and I actually have a friend who is playing the role of Collins.

(For more information about the upcoming production of Rent, visit the LTCC’s FaceBook page.)

Leave a comment